January Recommendation

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffmann

Mindy Mejia

Seventeen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.

Local sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman tells the story of the real Hattie, and what happened that final year of school when she dreamed of leaving her small town behind . . .

Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

A tightly-plotted psychological murder mystery for fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones, Joel Dicker's The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair and Tana French's The Secret Place

Ever judged a book by its cover? A lot of thought goes into creating book covers and Mindy Mejia writes about it here.

"It is at turns heartbreaking and cruelly ironic, a really intense piece of storytelling that digs deep." - Liz Loves Books