HachetteBanner DECEMBER RecommendedReading 880x330

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato

Katharine is found dead at the foot of the stairs by her 30-year-old daughter Laura. The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of her mother's body are weighed and categorized, motivates Laura to write her own version of events. To bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemized entry.

What emerges are a series of stories in which Laura attempts to discover how and why her mother died, as well as make sense of her own grief, by piecing her mother's body back together. In doing so, she is forced to confront a woman silenced by her own mother and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by motherhood and unable to love freely.

A big book about a small life. For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ann Patchett, Tessa Hadley and Anne Tyler.

Be in to win up to 10 copies here