BOOT small robot, BIG adventure

Book 1

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home.

Beautifully illustrated throughout, BOOT is a special book you will want to treasure and share.

When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans.

Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.

With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .

BOOT is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

  • Pub date: 14.05.19
  • RRP: $18.99
  • Format: Paperback / softback

Author

Shane Hegarty

Shane Hegarty was a journalist and editor of the Irish Times, and before that worked in radio and the music business. Now a full time writer, he is the author of the bestselling middle-grade series, Darkmouth - which is currently being developed into a big screen animation by Oscar-nominated director Douglas Sweetland and Moana Head of Story, Dave Pimentel. Darkmouth was nominated for the Waterstones Prize. Boot is his first series for younger readers. He lives near Dublin with his wife and a brutally honest young readers focus group - otherwise known as his four children.

Other books by the author